SIGNED Sanibel & Captiva Islands by Deb Gleason & Charles LeBuff

index.jpg
index.jpg

SIGNED Sanibel & Captiva Islands by Deb Gleason & Charles LeBuff

21.99

Sanibel Island was opened to homesteading in 1888, four years after the Sanibel Island Light Station was completed, and boats ranging from steamers to schooners were drawn to the islands. The islands' prairie-like savannahs, where the threat of freeze was rare, were perfect for farming. Inns and hotels appeared to service newcomers who came to stake a homesteading claim, fish for silver king tarpon, or explore the tropical frontier. Others came seeking seashells, as Sanibel and Captiva Islands were legendary among shell collectors everywhere.

Quantity:
Add To Cart

The authors arrived a bit late for homesteading, each finding an island niche in 1958. Charles LeBuff came to work at Sanibel National Wildlife Refuge and lived in one of the lighthouse quarters for 22 years. He became a charter member of the Sanibel City Council and had a part in keeping Sanibel Sanibel. Deb Gleason grew up on the beach, helping with family rental cottages and later helping visitors become islanders in the world of real estate. She now serves as chairperson of the Sanibel Historical Preservation Committee.